My Superhero

1486686_10151871491985994_213101009_n

For me life started with a man who taught me that not all men are cheaters. He is the reason I am today what I am. He is the one because of whom I have totally not given up on men. He is the one who has taught me not every man breaks a woman’s heart but treasures her.

This is my 2nd post on the blog and its about the most important man in a girl’s life. We call them as Father, Dad, Papa, Pop, Baba etc. No matter how old we are, we always are our daddy’s little princess throughout life.

My relationship with my father is very straightforward and simple. I discuss everything with him right from the weather to boys. Yes that is right, I do discuss about boys with my Dad. Its very plain who can give you a better opinion about men than the best man in your life. I have never felt awkward in telling him that dad I like this guy and his response has also always been very friendly. An open relationship with my father is what has helped me become independent in life. We have always been more like friends than child and parent. Yes he always given me the stick when it comes to being an authority but the friend in him has always asked me to take decisions with my own pace.

One thing my dad has always taught me is to follow rules. I still remember, in SSC I scored 74% . I wanted to get admission in HR College for which the cut-off was 78% but my dad with his contacts could have easily secured me a seat. When I asked him to help me he plainly said no. When asked he said that in life you will always be pointed as one having nepotism but if you don’t ever use my name and do everything on your own merit then those remarks won’t ever hurt your conscience. I felt angry at that time but later when I saw people actually saying that “Isko kya hain iska baap toh iske liye sab easy kar dega” it din’t hurt me at all because I knew that whatever I had achieved was with my own hardwork. I went home and thanked my Dad he made  me proud of him on many occasions but that day I felt proud of myself having followed his advice.

I have always lived with my parents. But in 2008 my dad got transferred and there came the moment for I had to be separated from him for the first time in 21 years of my life. I cried a lot but he told me to be strong and followed suit. The only time we could spend with him was on weekends and it was not at all sufficient. But I use to tell myself everyday that he is staying there all alone atleast I have mom and sis with me. I was still studying then. One fine day I remember calling him for a petty thing that’s when he told me you do what you feel is right. I retorted saying but this is big, I don’t think I know what to do. He told me that whatever decision you take I will support you and I have utter and complete faith in you. He said that you should be able to take your own decisions now, I won’t be there forever. Yes I would always be there is advisory capacity but you have to do what you feel. You need to know how your solutions look when applied. You won’t know how it feels to rise till you fall. And in those 2 years I learnt everything for which I was earlier dependant on others. It was a great feeling to do certain things on your own. It felt superb when everyone told me I am a responsible human and a very good daughter. Again here I would like t thank my dad to help me become responsible.

I have seen a lot of super hero movies in my life to deduce that Superman is the one who helps others and saves you when in peril. For me there is one man who has been like that to me and that is no one else but my Dad. He is my superhero and a unique one at that as he first lets me try my best and if I don’t succeed he swoops in the at the last moment and saves me but doesn’t let me fail.

I shudder to think of the day when I will get married and leave my Dad behind. Life definitely won’t be the same without him. Yes I will be fulfilling a bigger role then as sumone’s wife, daughter-in-law, sister-in-law and sometime later a mother but I am sure I would miss him heaps everyday. And one thing is for sure that no matter wherer I go, whom I spend my life with, Dad you will always be my Superman, The First Man I Ever Loved and The Most Important Man In My Life.

Thank you for allowing me to run and picking me when I fell. Thank you for teaching me its okay to take the left instead of right sometimes. Thank you for teaching me that trust is a two way thing, you get it only if you give it. And lastly thank you for loving me unconditonally the way I am.

I am blessed and I am God’s favourite child as he gave me a father like you. I love you the most Dad to infinity and beyond, Forever and Always.

2 thoughts on “My Superhero

Leave a comment